Deciding On What Kind Of Rug To Buy

Deciding on what kind of rug or area rug to buy for your new place is not all that difficult, but many people struggle with what to buy. I think the biggest reason for this is that most people really do not know the difference between the different types of rugs that are available. So here is a quick explanation of the different types of rugs that most people talk about.


When most people use the term rug they could be talking about almost anything that falls into that category. It could be a simple door rug, bath mat, or even a large living room rug. Most of the time though the term rug is used to describe either a small mat, accent rug, or any other type of rug usually under the size of 3’X5′.

Area Rugs

Area rugs are usually quite a bit larger than most rugs. These rugs are usually used in large rooms like the dinning room, family room, and living room. These rugs usually come in standard sizes like 8X10, 10X12, and 10X14. They are designed to create a single focal point in the room that you can decorate around.

Accent Rugs

Accent rugs are usually smaller rugs that are used to bring in a little warmth and color into a room. They are often used in front of cabinets, bookshelves and the like. Another common place that accent rugs are often found is in the kitchen. People love to place these rugs in front of the sink and sometimes the refrigerator and stove.

Runner Rugs

Runner rugs are long thin rugs that are often placed in hallways and on stairs. They are most of the time about 2 to 3 feet wide and often over 8 feet long.

These different types of rugs are just the tip of the ice burg. There are tons of different materials used in all of these rugs. Everything from silk rugs to the ultra modern shag rug and everything in between but unfortunately that is a topic for another article. I hope this quick discussion on rugs gives you a little bit more knowledge as to what the different types of rugs that are available.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *